View Dyslexie font  |  View high contrast
Subscribe to the ADCET newsletter
Sector News

Equity in Higher Education Panel

The Equity in Higher Education Panel (EHEP) is a high level strategic advisory body with a focus on student equity in higher education. The EHEP will provide strategic advice and make recommendations to the Department of Education, Skills, and Employment on strategic issues relating to improving student equity in higher education. As part of its work the EHEP will develop a National Equity in Higher Education Roadmap, a five year strategy to accelerate performance of underrepresented equity groups nationally and to raise the profile of equity best practice in the sector to embed it more effectively in universities’ missions.

The full membership of the Panel is as follows:

Mr Rob Heferen, Chair (ex officio), Deputy Secretary - Higher Education, Research and International Group, Department of Education, Skills and Employment
Professor Penny Jane Burke, Director - Centre of Excellence for Equity in Higher Education and Global Innovation, The University of Newcastle
Dr Daniel Edwards, Research Director - Tertiary Education Research Program, Australian Council for Educational Research
Dr Leanne Holt, Chair - National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Higher Education Consortium, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy), Macquarie University
Professor Denise Kirkpatrick, Acting Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Western Sydney University
Professor Nick Klomp, Vice-Chancellor and President, CQUniversity Australia
Professor Simon Maddocks, Vice-Chancellor and President, Charles Darwin University
Professor Adam Shoemaker, Vice-Chancellor and President, Southern Cross University 
Dr Guinever Threlkeld, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Regional), La Trobe University
Professor Denise Wood AM, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students), University of the Sunshine Coast
Mr Paul Denny (ex officio), Branch Manager - Education and Youth Policy Branch, Social Policy and Programs Group, National Indigenous Australians Agency
Professor Sarah O’Shea (ex officio), Director - National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education, Curtin University
Ms Amanda Franzi, Executive Officer (ex officio), Department of Education, Skills and Employment