

## 2025 Accessibility in Action Awards

Celebrating

Global Accessibility Awareness Day
#GAAD

Acknowledgement to country East Cape https://aiatsis.gov.au/explore/map-indigenous-australia ABORIGINAL AUSTRALIA SOUTHERN OCEAN

## About the AlA Awards I



ADCET is proud to celebrate our Accessibility in Action awards in line with Global Accessibility Awareness Day (annually in May).

These awards provide an opportunity to highlight and showcase the amazing work by individuals and teams in advancing accessibility and inclusive practice across the tertiary education sector in Australia.

## Thank you, Thank you

 To everyone who nominated an individual or a team/project this year.

 To our fabulous panel of judges that assisted us this year in evaluating the nominations.

 To everyone who missed out this year, and to the numerous staff and students across the sector that continue to make education more inclusive and accessible.

## Winners.....

Judges scored each nomination according to our criteria on a scale from 1 to 10. All scores were then collated and ADCET determined winners based on those who scored 7 and above.

7-8 for entries that comprehensively addressed accessibility barriers, related to accessibility issues for students/staff/community, and demonstrated a strong commitment to accessibility.

9-10 for entries that innovatively and comprehensively addressed accessibility barriers, related to broad institutional and community needs, and demonstrated an exceptional, institution-wide commitment to accessibility that goes above and beyond.

#### **Highly Commended**

#### **Deakin University**

### **Equity-capable Careers Service**

Lauren Hansen, David Eckstein, Lisa White, Teryn Attwell, Jess Avery

#### **Highly Commended**

#### **Deakin University**

## OneDeakin Assessment Task Template

Sam Purvis, David O'Brien, Lea Piskeiwicz, Linda Corrin, Fabrice Bernard, Susie Macfarlane, Sachin Ranaweera, Penny Manwaring, Sara Dingle, Robyn Yucel, Tiff Gunning, Robyn Barallon, Kirra Minton, Tara Draper

## Individual Awards

Champions of Accessibility

7 winners



### Trina Bianchini

TAFE SA Inclusive Education Roadmap

TAFE SA

### Jacinta Jones O'Meara

Accessibility Leadership and Advocacy

**RMIT** 

## Carmel Whitty

#### SureStart

(Transition support program for 1st year University students with Autism)

Macquarie University

## Associate Professor Laura Gray

Medical Deans (MDANZ)

Disability Inclusion Self-Assessment tool

**Deakin University** 

### Tiana Blazevic

The Neurodiversity Project:
Neurodivergent Study Skill Workshops

University of Adelaide

### **Brooke Szucs**

UQ Disability Inclusion Advocacy Network (DIAN) and Associated Initiatives

University of Queensland

### Joe-Anne Kek-Pamenter

Sustained Advocacy and Commitment to Accessibility

**Griffith University** 

## Trevor Allan Award

#### **Excellence in Disability Inclusion and Accessibility**

This award is a prestigious honour that is bestowed annually upon an individual who has demonstrated a sustained and unwavering commitment to promoting accessibility and inclusion for students with disability in tertiary education across Australia.

Named after Trevor Allan, a renowned champion and leader in the disability and tertiary sector, this award recognises and celebrates those who have made significant and sustained contributions to creating an equitable and inclusive learning environment for all students.



#### **Trevor Allan Award - Excellence in Disability Inclusion and Accessibility**

## Jodie Hoger



## Team / Project Awards<sup>1</sup>

11 winners



#### **RMIT**

## Inclusive Assessment Strategies for Educators

Alyce Greenwood, Teresa Dowding, Anna Branford, Jacinta Jones-O'Meara, Ronny Andrade Parra, Hilary Wheaton, Jamal Abilmona, Colette Beauregard Seehaber, Rachael Hains-Wesson, Ann Standish, Helen McLean, Chilwin Soh

#### **Charles Darwin University**

## Creating Accessible, Inclusive and Student-Centred Support Practices

Julia Ash, Chloe Hay, Marnie Bruce

#### **University of Newcastle**

## Auslan Language and Culture Beginners 1 and 2

Tom Doe, Sarah Dearlove, Mali Webb, Patrick Nichols

#### **University of the Sunshine Coast**

### **UniSC Graduation Ceremonies**

Emma Rahui, Stefanie Tropiano, Kylie Williams, Naomi Charlie

#### **University of Technology Sydney**

## **Professional Captioning Dashboard**

Angel Lee, Ashley Willcox, Conrad Frankland, Elizabeth Smith, Jasmeet Bedi, Jean Lei, Jomark Sto Domigo, Katie Duncan, Michael Chan, Sandra Guthrie, Shirin Bayat

#### **Curtin University**

## Curtin Specialist Mentoring Program (CSMP)

Sandhya Subarmanian, Debbie Teh, Paul Crestani, Kevin Winder

#### **Deakin University**

### Biomedicine Technical Services Team

Maria Amodio, Cuong Huynh, Nick Esbert, Liam Nolan, Shea Randall, Khanh Tran

#### **Edith Cowan University**

## Inclusive Employability Project

Emma Lovegrove, Denise Bertilone, Prof. Justin Brown

#### **TAFE New South Wales**

# Implementing a Hive Formation for Accessibility and Inclusion Knowledge Sharing

Naomi McGrath, John Fardoulis, Kathy Simic, Stephen Belbin, Carla McMillan, Sue Wakefield, Mia Lahey Rudd, Teresita Eslava, Gail Mercado

#### **TAFE New South Wales / TAFE South Australia**

## UDL-LevelUp: Implementing Inclusive Practices in Teaching and Learning

Naomi McGrath, John Fardoulis (TAFE NSW)
Trina Bianchini, Tanya Allan (TAFE SA)

#### **Deakin University**

## Neurodiverse Student Programs

Meg Mahar, Lisa Kavenagh, Emma Clyne, Tracey Nelson, Kylie Fitzpatrick, Claire Edwards, Andrew Synnot, Craig McGree, Lizeth Rodriguez, Simon Goh, Nikki Bleja, John Laidlaw, Michelle Jepsen, Tracy Ellis

#### sessibility in

Accessibility in Action 2025

Winner

ADCET

## Congratulations

## Coming up!

Look out for some of our amazing winners in future webinars, podcasts and articles!

For more information on AIA visit: www.adcet.edu.au/our-work/accessibility-in-action-award

## Congratulations & Thank You

